Missouri insurance claim schedule: 10 business days to indict the claim and send instructions and documentation, including proof of loss forms, to the policyholder, which serve as the policyholder's affidavit about the extent of the damage or injury. A person injured in a personal injury accident has five years after the date of the injury to file a claim in Missouri. This is a pretty generous statute of limitations compared to many other states. Despite having five years to file it, it's always wise to file your claim as soon as possible after discovering an injury or costly property damage.
The sooner you file your claim, the faster you will receive compensation. Filing your claim early can help speed up the process with more immediate access to medical records and information about the accident. In short, you have 5 years to file a claim for car accident injuries and property damage in Missouri. Missouri follows a traditional fault system when it comes to car insurance and who is financially struggling for injuries and other losses after an accident.
That means that the driver who causes an accident must compensate those who were harmed as a result. In practical terms, that compensation will come from the at-fault driver's insurance company. Car accidents are always a scary time, but if you take these steps, report your car accident, and file your claim within 5 years of the accident, you'll receive the compensation you deserve. In many cases, your car insurance provider will be able to negotiate with the other party's provider to resolve your claim.
Educating yourself about Missouri car accident laws is one thing, but if you were injured in a car accident, you may need more than just information. Insurance coverage will surely play a key role in almost any car accident scenario in Missouri, so it's important to understand the state's liability insurance requirements and other coverage rules that could affect your car accident claim. Once you've addressed any injuries and your police report has been filed, you should call your auto insurance company. The comparative negligence rule is mandatory for Missouri judges and juries (if your car accident case goes to court) and will also serve as a guide to the auto insurance claim adjuster when evaluating your case.
Even if you're sure that your case will be resolved through the car insurance claim process, you'll want to have plenty of time to file a lawsuit if you need it, if not for a reason other than having more influence during the settlement talks. In many cases of car accidents, insurance companies will beat around the bush and deliberately extend the deadline for reaching a settlement.