The grace period for new car insurance in Missouri is 2 to 30 days in most cases. The grace period for a new car is the length of time that insured drivers can drive a newly purchased vehicle before adding it to an existing car insurance policy. You usually have at least one week after the purchase to purchase insurance for a used car. Some states and insurance companies give drivers up to 30 days to buy coverage, but the longer you wait, the greater the risk.
It's a good idea to get a car insurance quote before buying a used car so that you have a rough estimate of how much it will cost to insure it. If you don't have insurance coverage before you buy a used car, you usually won't be able to continue shopping at a car dealership. However, since car insurance plans are based on trust, make sure you do everything you can to alert your company to any complications. If this is your first car purchase and you don't have car insurance coverage yet, you must purchase insurance before you can take possession of the car.
Unfortunately, every year thousands of Missourians are involved in car accidents involving drivers who have not maintained the required auto insurance. Driving without car insurance will increase your monthly rates and could cost a repeat offender their driver's license. If you're ready to buy an auto insurance policy now, enter your zip code below to start comparing quotes. If you want to determine if you need collision or comprehensive insurance coverage, you must consider the total value of your car and its cost.
Once you provide this necessary information, a company representative will contact you and provide you with a quote to insure your vehicle. Auto insurance companies see an interruption in coverage as a red flag and, as a result, may increase their rates. For this reason, many states require car insurance to protect drivers from direct financial liability for car accidents. If you don't have insurance when you buy your used car, you won't be able to take it out of the parking lot until you have a policy.
Insurance companies licensed to offer personal auto insurance in Missouri must provide the Driver's License Office with information about the insurance of drivers and the vehicles they insure, primarily parked in Missouri. When you're in the process of buying used car insurance, you can choose the type of coverage you want. For each type of insurance, you will receive an insurance identification card that you must carry in the vehicle at all times. If a law enforcement officer asks you for proof of insurance and you can't show it, the agent can issue you a fine.